Skip to main content
Try searching these databases to retrieve articles and more. Depending on your area of research, relevant databases could fall into a variety of categories including Art, History, Linguistics, etc. Check out West Chester Library's database page for a full list of available databases (print included) in all subject areas.
Searches all Annual Review journals subscribed to by WCU library.
The premier online full-text resource serving the research, teaching and professional needs of anthropologists.
(American Anthropological Association)
Comprehensive database of art images to view, analyze, save for use in presentations. To save/download images you must set up a personal account.
Technical Note: Pop-up blocking software must be disabled or set to allow pop-ups from www.artstor.org. Cookies must be enabled. See technical specifications.
Biography in Context
Biographical reference information.
Cross-cultural full text database for the study of archaeological traditions.
(Human Relations Area Files, Inc.,)
eHRAF World Cultures
Full-text, primary source materials covering all aspects of cultural and social life.A collection of on approximately in over 400 different cultural, ethnic, religious & national groups in the following regions of the world: Asia, Europe, Africa, Middle East, North America, Oceania, Eurasia and South America. Access is via keyword, as well as through geographic (OWC) codes and a topical (OCM) classification scheme.
(Human Relations Area Files, Inc.,)
A full-text database on the women's movement and lesbian, gay, bi-sexual and transgender studies. Includes scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters & other resources.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
History of the United States and Canada are covered in America: History and Life
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Digital files of social science research data for a wide range of subjects. This database provides the raw numerical data for secondary analysis.
Note: For off-campus use, first create a personal My Data account while on campus. Using that account, you will have off-campus access for 6 months.
(Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Full text scholarly journal articles in Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Business, Health and General Sciences from first volume through three to five years from the last complete calendar year (moving wall).
LGBT Life with Full Text
Full-text coverage for the most important literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. Offering a variety of scholarly, popular and regional resources, it includes journals, books, magazines and more.
Award-winning films, documentaries, interviews, and archival footage exploring the social, cultural, and political evolution of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
(Alexander Street Press)
MEDLINE with Full Text
The most comprehensive database of medical and health research
Help Video: MEDLINE Tutorial
(by Walt Cressler, WCU Science Librarian)
Scholarly journal articles in the areas of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and more.
Help Video: Project Muse, Searching Basics
(by Reading Area Community College Librarians through a grant project with PASSHE libraries.)
(Johns Hopkins University Press)
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Essential tool for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, providing extensive full-text coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
Race Relations Abstracts
Focuses on the relationship between and among races and includes abstracting for the top academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers in the field.
Religion & Philosophy Collection
Essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies, providing a comprehensive full-text source of content as it pertains to the topics related to and discussed in disciplines of religion and philosophy.
SocINDEX with Full Text
A comprehensive and high quality sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
Covers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. Provides full text, including peer-reviewed titles.
Web of Science Core Collection (Web of Science)
-Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1984- )
-Science Citation Index Expanded (1984- )
-Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1984- )
-Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990- )
-Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990- )
-Book Citation Index– Science (2005- )
-Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005- )
-Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015- )
-Current Chemical Reactions (1985- )
-Index Chemicus (1993- )
Welcome to West Chester University Libraries' anthropology & sociology research page. A good way to begin research is to consult specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries. Subject encyclopedias provide basic background information about a subject; explain how your subject connects to others; presents terminology to use in your searches; and often have bibliographies that list key works on your subject. A few examples of what the library offers are featured below. Websites, professional organizations, and additional reference materials can be searched using Anthropology and Sociology tabs above. Please don't hestiate to contact me about library research. Click on the following for WCU departmental page.
Search the library catalog
A sampling of specialized encyclopedias
Need help writing better papers?
The Writing Center offers free tutoring services to all WCU undergraduate and graduate students . At every stage of the writing process, tutors help students find strategies for solving writing problems and help them become better writers. They provide online help and one-on-one in person sessions in Lawrence Center and the F.H. Green Library. (Tutors will be available to meet with students in the library on a “drop-in” basis from Sunday-Wednesday from 4:30-9:00 pm.)
Citation format help
Hover over citation styles and click on "other" to get American Sociological Association (ASA) fomatting.
Dr. Susan Johnston, Chair
Dr. Lisa Ruchti, Library Liaison Sociology
Dr. Michael Di Giovine, Library Liaison Anthropology
Items not available?
The easiest way to request books is through E-Z Borrow (PALCI) . This is a regional network that usually delivers books very quickly.
If you need a book that is not available through E-Z Borrow, or a journal article not owned at WCU you can use ILLiad.
Note: You will be asked for a Patron ID. The number you need is the 16 digit number on the back of your WCU ID card. If your number doesn't work or you do not have an ID, call the library's circulation desk at 610-436-2946 to activate your number.