Skip to main content

Ethnic Studies: Home-Multiethnic

General Databases

Try searching these databases to retrieve articles and more. Depending on your area of research, relevant databases could fall into a variety of categories including anthropology, education, English, history, philosophy, political science, public administration, religious studies, social work, and sociology.  Refer to West Chester Library's database page for a full list of available databases (print included).

Getting Started

Welcome to West Chester University Libraries' ethnic studies  research page.To locate journal articles on your topic try searching the  general databases (on the left) or hover over "Home-Multiethnic" tab above  for  more discipline-specific indexes listed on  subpages for different ethnic groups. Websites and  professional organizations, can also be found there.

good  way to begin research is to consult  specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries.  Subject encyclopedias provide basic background  information about  a topic; explain how your subject connects to others;  present terminology to use in  searches; and often have bibliographies that list key works.  Also try searching  a subject  using one of the Reference databases ( see list on right side of this page). 

Please don't hestiate to contact me about library research. Click on the following for WCU departmental page.

Getting Help!

At different stages of the research process you may need assistance.  Tap these resources!

Reference Desk at F. H. Green Library 2nd floor;  call  610-436-2453

WCU Writing Center   main office 214 Lawrence Center; 610-430-5664 .  (Tutors will be available to meet with students  in the FHG Library on a “drop-in” basis from Sunday-Wednesday from 4:30-9:00 pm.)

Learning Assistance and Resource Center  (tutoring) 223 Lawrence Center; 610-436-2535; larc@wcupa.edu

Citation Styles -online help

New in the Library

Reference databases

A select list of resources.  Many more can be accessed from the library's homepage under Databases tab.

Department Chair

 

Dr. Bonnie Freeman-Witthoft, Liaison

 

 

Office of Multicultural Affairs

Key reference

West Chester University   ---    WCU Libraries  25 West Rosedale Avenue, West Chester, PA 19383  610-430-4400