ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century.
-Chicago Tribune, 1849-1992
-Los Angeles Times, 1881-1991
-New York Times, 1857-2008
-Philadelphia Tribune, 1912-2001
-Wall Street Journal, 1889-1994
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922
Full-text newspapers chronicling American culture and daily life from all 50 U.S. States from 1690 to the recent past. Search by era (historical, Presidential, or a date range), article type, place of publication and/or keyword.
Cross-search this & other Readex historical collections with Readex AllSearch
National Newspapers Core
Search or browse full text issues of:
-Christian Science Monitor (1988-current)
-Los Angeles Times (1997-current)
-New York Times (1980-current)
-Wall Street Journal (1984-current)
-Washington Post (1987-current)
Cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times and The Times (London) - and selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes full-text television & radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Current reports covering a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Search by topic or browse issues to find reports.
American History in Video
Streaming video that allows students and researchers to analyze historical events & their presentation over time through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage & important documentaries. It includes History Channel and PBS broadcasts as well as USIA footage covering the Revolutionary Era to 21st century.
(Alexander Street Press)
History in Video
Key documentaries, commercial and governmental newsreels, public affairs and archival footage, and much more. Areas of focus include Trade and Exploration, The American Revolutionary Era, The American Civil War, Imperialism and Colonialism, World War I, The Jazz Age, The Post-World War II Era, The Sixties, Women’s History, Black History, and International Newsreels.
Cross-search the American History in Video and the World History in Video databases.
(Alexander Street Press)
Historic Documents Online
Search or browse these primary sources by year (1972 - ) or topic. Documents range from presidential speeches & international agreements to U.S. Supreme Court decisions, governmental reports, scientific findings, & cultural discussions.
Full text scholarly journal articles in Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Business, Health and General Sciences from first volume through three to five years from the last complete calendar year (moving wall).
America: History and Life with Full Text
Source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Not sure where to start? Try OneSearch! It searches the library catalog, databases, as well as some freely available sites, somewhat like Google. This can mean large number of results so use the limiters on the left hand side of the screen to get more useable results.
Librarian Contact Information