Reference works, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are a great place to look for general information on your topic. Additionally they will give you an idea of how to write your own Wikipedia article.
Try the following databases to find useful articles for your Wikipedia articles and class assignments.
America: History and Life with Full Text
Source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
History of the United States and Canada are covered in America: History and Life
Full text scholarly journal articles in Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Business, Health and General Sciences from first volume through three to five years from the last complete calendar year (moving wall).
Scholarly journal articles in the areas of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and more.
Help Video: Project Muse, Searching Basics
(by Reading Area Community College Librarians through a grant project with PASSHE libraries.)
(Johns Hopkins University Press)
Try the following databases to find useful newspaper articles for your Wikipedia articles and class assignments.
National Newspapers Core
Search or browse full text issues of:
-Christian Science Monitor (1988-current)
-Los Angeles Times (1997-current)
-New York Times (1980-current)
-Wall Street Journal (1984-current)
-Washington Post (1987-current)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century.
-Chicago Tribune, 1849-1992
-Los Angeles Times, 1881-1991
-New York Times, 1857-2008
-Philadelphia Tribune, 1912-2001
-Wall Street Journal, 1889-1994
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922
Once in this database try also searching African American Newspapers, Hispanic Newspapers, and Ethnic American Newspapers which are linked from the database homepage.
Search for News sources in LexisNexis Academic.
Browse or search full text issues from 1981-present. Paid advertisements are excluded. Includes access to Special Report Sites.
Search the library catalog from this guide:
Librarian Contact Information