Skip to main content
Match your topic to the right types of sources
Your topic will often determine the best type of sources. For some, you may need to depend on websites and interviews. Other topics will be reported on in the news media. Still others will have scholarly journal articles or data sets that can be used.
- Working on a WCU campus group or club? You can research the organization itself though the WCU student organizations page and by looking for articles in the Quad newspaper archives.
- We have some interesting databases for researching places. You could search for news stories in our Philidelphia Inquirer database or the Daily Local newspaper website. We also have a database called policy map that will create maps with data overlaid in color.
- For company research, your best bet is Business Source Premier. Not only does it have magazine and scholar journal articles on companies, but it has detailed company reports for almost all publicly traded companies.
- For profiling a professional within a career, you could supplement your interview with information from free government websites: the Occupational Outlook Handbook and O*Net.
- For an organization, in addition to the organizations own website, there will probably be newspaper and magazine articles available through OneSearch.
Some databases to consider
Info on WCU student organizations
This website provides information on WCU student organizations. You can find a basic description, link to the organization's website, meeting times, and the organization's leaders.
Search for articles on campus clubs and groups.
Daily Local News
Like the Quad, this is a website, not a database, so it doesn't have a lot of search features.
Browse or search full text issues from 1981-present. Paid advertisements are excluded. Includes access to Special Report Sites.
Online geographical information database with data on housing, education, mortgage originations, jobs and more. Create custom maps, tables, and reports. Try our tutorials! Creating a Map
; Creating a Community Profile Report
(The Reinvestment Fund)
Occupational Outlook Handbook
TIP: Make sure you are using the search box for just the handbook (blue band)!
This free government website has data about many careers, including job overviews, educational requirements, pay, and job outlook forecasts.
Some information on this website overlaps with the Occupational Outlook Handbook, but it differs in having more emphasis on particular skills and personality traits needed for a job.
Business Source Complete
Search full-text journals, books, case studies, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and industry, economic & market reports.
Need more sources?
Need something that the databases and websites above don't cover? OneSearch has streaming documentary videos and lots of newspaper articles in addition to scholarly sources.