This is the "Career Resources" page of the "Careers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A guide to resources on careers and employment from the WCU Career Development Center and WCU Library Services
Last Updated: May 8, 2013 URL: http://subjectguides.wcupa.edu/TCDC Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Career Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Visit or Contact Us

TCDC Logo

Twardowski Career Development Center
225 Lawrence Center
Phone: 610.436.2501
email: cdc@wcupa.edu

Meet Our Staff!

Left to right (back): Ashley Reichenbach, Preeti Singh, Amanda Mitchell

Left to right (front): Krista Carstens, Evelyn Doran, Becky Ross

All staff members may be reached by calling 610-436-2501.

=======================

FHG Library
25 West Rosedale Ave
Phone: 610.436.2453
email: refdesk@wcupa.edu

What links do you suggest?

Do you have a favorite job search site?  Have you found a resource that is particularly helpful?  If so, let us know!  We can link it to our webpage or to this resource.


 

Researching Employers

The F.H. Green Library has many resources for researching employers and fields of employment. 
For books & videos search the PILOT Library Catalog, using subject or keywords. 
Try subject words such as

  • occupations 
  • vocational guidance.

Useful library databases for researching company information are:

 

 

Welcome!

Welcome to

The Careers Subject Guide

A collaboration between the Francis Harvey Green Library (FHG) and the Twardowski Career Development Center (TCDC)

See our calendar for special career events and opportunities! 

Like us on Facebook!

 

Print Resources at the Career Center

Check out our new materials in the Career Resource Library:

The career library provides practical and easy-to-use career exploration and job search materials, as well as a wide array of free magazines and literature.


Job Choices Online

Visit our office for a free Job Search Handbook - the latest edition of Job Choices


2013 Job Search Handbook for Educators - American Association for Employment in Education, Inc.


Now Featuring!

A New Career Resource Library Book:

Cover Art
Nonprofit Career Guide - Shelly Cryer
ISBN: 9780940069596
Publication Date: 2008-05-20

 

Useful Books at WCU Libraries

updated 9.18.2012

Cover Art
Career Wisdom for College Students - Peter Vogt & Doug Hardy
Call Number: 331.702 V887 (4th floor)
ISBN: 0816068372
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
African American Women Chemists - Jeannette Brown
Call Number: 540.922 B878 (6th floor)
ISBN: 019974288X
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Undecided: How to ditch the endless quest for perfect and find the career - and life - that's right for you - Barbara Kelley; Shannon Kelley
Call Number: 650.1 K29 (6th floor)
ISBN: 1580053416
Publication Date: 2011
Focuses on women's issues

Cover Art
Careers in Sport, Fitness, and Exercise - American Kinesiology Association Staff
Call Number: 796.023 C271 (5th floor)
ISBN: 9780736095662
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
201 Knockout Answers to Tough Interview Questions: The ulitmate guide to handling the new competency-based interview style - Linda Matias
Call Number: E-book: click on title to read it online!
ISBN: 9780814415009
Publication Date: 2010

 

Partner sites

 

 

 

Jobs & Internship Postings/On-Campus Recruitment


 


 

Explore Majors and Careers


International Exploration & Opportunities


 

 

Online Resource Links

Films on Demand: Careers & Job Search
Online videos about career exploration, career choices, and job success skills! 
See an example of an embedded video from Films on Demand in the box at the bottom of this column.  Access these films from off-campus using your WCU username & password. (if you have problems, call or email the Library during regular hours: 610.436.3453 or refdesk@wcupa.edu)


Listed below are some of the popular links for career information grouped by different categories.

OCCUPATION/CAREER RESEARCH

Occupational Outlook Handbook (includes salary information)

Occupational Outlook Handbook en Español

O*Net

SALARY INFORMATION

Salary.com

Payscale.com

NACE Salary Calculator Center - The National Association of Colleges and Employers offers the most accurate compensation data available.

EXPERIENTIAL EDUCATION (Internships, Service Learning, Volunteer Opportunities)

WCU Career Development Center Internship website

WCU Academic Internship Programs

WCU Office of Service Learning and Volunteer Programs 

 

Online Videos

Online videos about job interviews and careers can be found in the WCU Libraries' subscription to Films on Demand

This video, Extraordinary Answers to Common Interview Questions, is one example.  Use the libraries' Database pages to find Films on Demand and search for videos by keywords in the title or video segment.

West Chester University | Library Services | 25 West Rosedale Avenue | West Chester, Pennsylvania 19383 | 610-430-4400

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip