Not sure if OneSearch is where you should start your research? Check out OneSearch vs. Databases.
OneSearch is a tool that will bring back many types of resources on just about any topic. That makes it a great starting point for most research topics.
- Put phrases into quotation marks, like "bipolar disorder" or "no child left behind"
- Try synonyms to bring back different results. "bipolar disorder" teens will bring back different sources than "bipolar disorder" adolescents.
- Use "Publication Date" at the bottom of the left-hand column to limit your results to items from the last 5 or 10 years.
- Use "Content Type" in the middle of the left-hand column to limit your results to books, newspaper articles, etc.
- Use "Limit to Articles from Scholarly Publications" at the top of the left-hand column to make sure you are getting scholarly journal articles.
Databases for Peer-Review Articles
Environmental Science Databases
Freely-available bibliographic database for over 70,000 earth sciences publications, with links to full-text when available.
(Government of Canada)
Full-text database offering extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study in journals, books and monographs.
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment in scholarly, government and general-interest sources.
Reference sources, academic journals, newsletters, news, audio, blogs, images, and more on the environment, energy and natural resources. Search or browse by topic.
Newspaper Databases for Local Information
Cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times and The Times (London) - and selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes full-text television & radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
National Newspapers Core
Search or browse full text issues of:
-Christian Science Monitor (1988-current)
-Los Angeles Times (1997-current)
-New York Times (1980-current)
-Wall Street Journal (1984-current)
-Washington Post (1987-current)
Search for News sources in LexisNexis Academic.
University History Sites
WCU Student Newspapers
Contains digitized copies of all of the Student Newspapers from 1892-2011. Search for Buildings by Name and limit by date.
WCU Course Catalogs
The Course Catalogs include a brief history of the university as well as the functions of the buildings on campus. Cannot search across all catalogs but can search within catalogs.
The Yearbooks will have images of the buildings on campus and occasionally highlight the people who the buildings are named after. Cannot search across Yearbooks but can search within a yearbook.
Office of Sustainability
WCU's Office of Sustainability website. Discusses the university's initiatives as well as educational opportunities at WCU.
Librarian Contact Information