Tutorial: Using OneSearch for art topics
Our OneSearch tool is great for Art and Design research, because it automatically searches for books and articles from multiple databases (Art Source, JSTOR, Academic Search Complete, etc.).
Databases for articles
ARTstor and Oxford Art Online are important art resources, but don't work well with OneSearch. It's better to search them directly.
Art images from museum collections.
Oxford Art Online
The standard encyclopedia for art. it is especially strong for beginning research on a particular artist, but also has subject entries for time periods, movements, famous works, etc.
These databases for Art and Design scholarly journal articles are included in OneSearch, but searching them directly allows you to do more sophisticated searching than OneSearch allows.
Art & Architecture Source
Comprehensive full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design in journals, books and images.
Full text scholarly journal articles in Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Business, Health and General Sciences from first volume through three to five years from the last complete calendar year (moving wall).
Scholarly journal articles in the areas of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and more.
Help Video: Project Muse, Searching Basics
(by Reading Area Community College Librarians through a grant project with PASSHE libraries.)
(Johns Hopkins University Press)