Skip to main content

Languages and Cultures: SPA340

A Research Guide for Languages and Cultures from West Chester University Libraries

DVDs and online films

Books

Although most of your research may come from journal articles, you might be interested in books too, both for comprehensive overviews of your topic and for articles published in edited volumes, a common way to publish in this area. Below are some subject headings that can get you started finding books and media on your topic. Note that many of the headings are also subdivided, making it possible to narrow your search.

Interlibrary loan for articles

Do you have an Illiad account? At this time all interlibrary loan requests for articles that the library does not offer access to in any format (print, electronic, microform) go through Illiad.

If you do not have an Illiad account, it's easy to create one and will save you time later. From the Illiad link, click on First Time Users. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click the First Time Users Click Here button. Fill in the New Users form; all asterisked fields must be filled in. Your WCU ID is the 16-digit number on the back of your RAM-e Card. Please also choose a Status and a Department. You will create your own username and password--make it something easy to remember. Then click Submit Information.

Now when you find an article that's perfect for your project but not available through the library, you are ready to request it through interlibrary loan. Use the Check Availability buttons in the database hit lists. If the article is not available through the library, click the Interlibrary Loan button. Log in to your account, and you'll find the required information about the article already filled in. Scroll down and click Submit Request.

We are now receiving many articles digitally; they are available in your Illiad account within 24 hours of request during the work week. If we cannot get the articles digitally, your requested article will be mailed and is usually available for pick-up at the library circulation desk within a week. You will get an email notification when the article, whether supplied digitally or in print, is available.

Contact information

For assistance, please contact me: Pat Newland, pnewland@wcupa.edu, 610-436-2256, FHG Library room 233.

Databases

Two databases will be the most helpful for you: MLA International Bibliography and Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts. Each indexes journals relevant to the study of bilingualism, in particular its linguistic aspects.

Depending on your topic, you may also need to search other databases. If you are focusing on education of bilingual children, you may want to use Education Source or ERIC. PsycInfo and SocIndex might also be useful if your research is on cognitive or sociological aspects of bilingualism.

You can search across many of these databases using the advanced search in OneSearch. For upper-level classes, I think you have more control over your search using relevant individual databases. But you may prefer using OneSearch.

MLA citation style

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 7th ed. Ref 808.02 M110 2009 available at the Reference Desk, at the Reserve Desk, and in the reference collection

See also the library's citation guide, a page on its Help research guide.

Attached is a file of examples. The examples feature material on bilingualism that can be found in the library's collection or online.

 

West Chester University   ---    WCU Libraries  25 West Rosedale Avenue, West Chester, PA 19383  610-430-4400