Banner Image

WCU Digital Collections

Yearbook Info

The West Chester State Normal School published the first yearbook, The Pathfinder, in 1910.  In 1911, the name of the publication changed to The Serpentine, which has remained the title of the annual publication into the present day. 

All issues of the yearbook until 2008 are available in a digitized format on Internet Archive.  Choose the decade you are interested in from the dropdown menu, then choose the date or dates that interest you.  You can then choose to look through or search the yearbook online or download a PDF of the Yearbook.  Unfortunately, searching across yearbooks is not available in Internet Archive.

FHG Library also holds physical copies of all issues.  They are available at FHG Library's Reserve Desk and in Special Collections.

Using Digital Files

To access yearbooks:

1. Click on the desired issue/year.  You will then be taken to the main page for the individual issue on the Internet Archive, which is hosting the digitized yearbooks. 

2. To read the yearbooks, click on one of the options in the "View the Book" box in the top left-hand corner.  The "Read Online" and "PDF" links are recommended.  

  • The Read Online format opens fastest and is easiest to search.
  • The PDF format is also searchable, and is ideal for downloading or saving the yearbook.

Open the document below for instructions on saving and manipulating yearbook images.

Rights Statement

Digital images in University Libraries' Digital Collections are issued by Special Collections, Francis Harvey Green Library, West Chester University. Images are provided for non-commercial, educational, and personal use only, and are not intended for reproduction or redistribution. For the above purposes the user may reproduce these materials (by download, printing, etc.) without further permission, on the condition that proper attribution of the source for all copies is provided by clearly acknowledging the name of the Library, the title of the web page or resource and the URL at which it was located, please credit as follows: Special Collections, Francis Harvey Green Library, West Chester University, West Chester, Pennsylvania. For questions regarding use of digital materials contact Special Collections (libspeccol@wcupa.edu or 610-436-3456). Special Collections assumes no responsibility for direct, indirect, consequential, or incidental infringement of copyright by content users.

West Chester University   ---    WCU Libraries  25 West Rosedale Avenue, West Chester, PA 19383  610-430-4400