Banner Image

Faculty Resources: Welcome

This guide provides information about using library resources to support teaching and learning.
Welcome

WCU Library Services provides many types of resources and services to support student learning.  This guide is intended to support faculty awareness and familiarity with the increased diversity of resources available from a 21st century academic library.  Services range from loaning of video cameras or DVDs for you or your students and placing course materials on electronic or print reserves to ordering new materials and arranging for a library instruction class.  The increased percentage of library research resources available online can be challenging to remain aware of and to incorporate into both traditional and online classrooms.  This guide includes ideas and step-by-step instructions for locating and linking to these learning support materials.

If you haven't already visited the rest of the Library Services website, please click on the top left "Library Services Home."  There you will find information about all the libraries' Collections, including Government Documents, Special Collections, Presser Music Library, and the IMC (more, bottom left).  The PILOT Library Catalog and the Databases will lead you to book, journal, and online resources.

For a concise description of our resources and services, see the Guide to the West Chester University Libraries (.pdf).

You can also view our videos on navigating library resources, such as Finding an article from the citaton and Off-campus access to library databases.

Contact your subject librarian or the library reference desk via the email or phone below if you have questions about any of these processes, or would like us to add additional information to this gnuide.   We're always glad to support the use of library resources and services for teaching and learning.

Reference Desk
phone: 610.436.2453
email: refdesk@wcupa.edu

Technology Students Can Use from the Library IMC

The Instructional Media Center (IMC) on the 1st floor of the FHG Library contains materials for K-12 teaching as well as DVDs, videos and technology of interest in all academic disciplines.  For more information see http://www.wcupa.edu/library.fhg/imc.asp

Reserves

Reserve Policies and Procedures

Print Reserves

While electronic reserves has replaced print reserves in most cases, some materials, such as books, prohibitively lengthy documents, and items that cannot be scanned legibly, are best suited for print reserves. The print copies of these materials are shelved or filed at reserves, where they are available to students for a time period designated by the instructor. Most print reserve items are required to be used in the library, but instructors may choose to allow items to be checked out for periods ranging from a few hours to a few days to a few weeks.

To place items on reserve in print form, please bring the materials to the reserve desk and complete this Print Reserves Submission Form. Please allow as much processing time as possible, especially at peak times such as the beginning of a semester. If time allows, materials can be mailed to reserves along with the completed form.

    * In accordance with U.S. copyright law, the Library will place only one (1) copy of a copyrighted work on reserve. If you wish to place multiple copies on reserve, you must obtain permission from the copyright holder. Guidelines for obtaining copyright permission are available at the reserve desk.

    * Fair use guidelines require copied materials to be removed from reserves at the end of each semester, so faculty must obtain permission from the copyright holder to place the same article on reserve for subsequent semesters.

Fines for overdue reserve materials are $1.00 per day.

Electronic Reserves

We use ERes by Docutek to place articles, chapters, solutions, sample exams, Powerpoint presentations, etc. in course pages on the web. The system is easy for students to use and allows them to view and print material for classes from any convenient PC at any time.

Guidelines for submitting items for electronic reserves

Faculty can submit items for electronic reserves in a variety of ways. Items in electronic format, such as exams created in MSWord, can simply be emailed as an attachment to libraryreserves@wcupa.edu.  Items in paper format, such as journal articles, should be brought to the reserve desk, where an appropriate form can be completed. Library staff will handle scanning or formatting materials and make them available over the web, where they can be accessed by a specific course page URL, by links to ERes from the FHG Library home page, or by going directly to ERes at http://eres.wcupa.edu/courseindex.asp.

To make our process as efficient as possible and to provide the best quality materials for students, we ask faculty to follow these guidelines:

    * The Library will make items available on ERes if they are suitable for this format. We will not normally duplicate electronic reserves with paper copies at the reserve desk.
    * Please provide a clean, sharp copy of the material. Please do not reduce the photocopy to fit two pages on one sheet or staple the pages or provide copies with underlining or highlighting. Do not submit copies in sizes other than 8 ½ x 11". The quality of the original is of utmost importance.
    * Materials must be accompanied by this Electronic Reseves Submission Form
    * Faculty are asked to provide photocopies, rather than originals, of journal articles, book chapters and other hard-copy documents to facilitate the scanning process.

FAQs

Q:  Whom do I contact about arranging library instruction for my class?
   A:  See the list of Subject Coordinator Librarians on the Information Literacy Instruction page (tab above)

Q:  How do I arrange to put materials on Electronic or Print Reserves?
   A:  See the information below, center.

Q:  How can I request a purchase of a book, video, etc.?
   A:  Contact your  Departmental Library Liaison or your Subject Librarian (see above) or use our online form.

New Faculty

Are you new to West Chester University and want a personal introduction to our libraries? 

Our librarians are always happy to meet with classroom faculty and show off our many resources, with an emphasis on your discipline!  Just contact your subject librarian and arrange a meeting.

State Library Databases for Your Research

West Chester University Library participates in the Keystone Library Network (KLN) with The State Library of Pennsylvania.  All state employees, including WCU faculty and staff, have access to the State Library's research databases.  (These databases are not available to students since they are not state employees.)

To access these databases, you need a State Library card.  The online form to request a card is available here.  Use SSHE as the "Agency" name and then West Chester University in the following box.

Once you have your card, use that barcode number and log in from the State Library's page current databases  here, or see the State Library website, http://www.statelibrary.state.pa.us

 

West Chester University   ---    WCU Libraries  25 West Rosedale Avenue, West Chester, PA 19383  610-430-4400