Library Services for Distance Students: Getting Articles

Using the libraries' databases

Use our online databases to find newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles on a wide range of topics. 

You can also use OneSearch to search through resources from all of our databases (including the Library Catalog).

Most of our databases can be accessed from off campus but you will have to log in before you can enter the database. See Off-campus Access to Library Databases for help.

Guides for Your Subject

For ideas on where to search for articles and other sources in your area, check out the guide for your major or discipline.

Finding the full text of articles

If you find information about a useful article in a database, but the full text of the article isn't there, what do you do?

Look for a link near the article information that says 'Check Availability'.  Most often, this link appears under the information about the article. 

Database record with Check Availablity link below it

Click the Check Availability link to see if WCU libraries have access to the full text either in another database or in print. If we have it, the full text of the article opens.

Full Text of article with Check Availability screen on the right

On the right, additional information about the article will appear, including the citation information and other full-text sources, if there are any.

Additional Information about the article, including citation information and other full-text sources.

This additional information does not appear on mobile devices.

If we do not have the article in full-text, when you click on the Check Availability link a new page with the citation information and a link to request the article via ILLiad appears.

Page with citation information and a link to request the article via ILLiad.

Getting articles through ILLiad

If you find an article that the WCU libraries do not own or only have in print, you can request a copy of the article using ILLiad. Requesting articles through ILLiad is free, and takes 2-3 business days. You'll need to set up an ILLiad account before you can request articles.

The video below show two ways of requesting articles through ILLiad.

West Chester University   ---    WCU Libraries  25 West Rosedale Avenue, West Chester, PA 19383  610-430-4400