Skip to main content
Credo Search - find more reference materials
Accessible Archives Complete
Historical, primary source, full text material including: African-American Newspapers 19th Century, American County Histories to 1900 (Pennsylvania), The Civil War Perspectives; National Anti-Slavery Standard; National Citizen and Ballot Box; Pennsylvania Gazette: 1728-1800, Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalog: Chester County 1809-1870, and Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County 1819-1817; The Revolution.
America: History and Life with Full Text
Source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
American Broadsides and Ephemera
Full-color digital images of American broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and American ephemera printed between 1749 and 1900 including political notices, confessions, songs, menus, advertisements, and more that capture daily American life.
American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900
Full-text of historical general magazines, literary and professional journals, and children's and women's magazines. The full page images preserve original typography and graphic elements, including drawings.
Streaming music from America's past including songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
Can be cross-searched with other Alexander Street music databases in Music Online
(Alexander Street Press)
America's Historical Imprints
More than 150,000 early American books, pamphlets, broadsides, and rare printed material covering centuries of American history, literature, culture, and daily life.
Cross-search these historical imprint collections: American Broadsides & Ephemera; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans; and Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker: Readex AllSearch
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922
Full-text newspapers chronicling American culture and daily life from all 50 U.S. States from 1690 to the recent past. Search by era (historical, Presidential, or a date range), article type, place of publication and/or keyword.
Cross-search this & other Readex historical collections with Readex AllSearch
Archive of Americana
Cross-search full text of all Readex primary historical publications databases.
Full-text searchable primary sources which include:
-Part I: A Newspaper Perspective
-Part II: The Soldiers' Perspective
-Part III: The Generals' Perspective
-Part IV: A Midwestern Perspective (Indiana newspapers published 1855-1869)
-Part V: Iowa's Perspective
-Part VI: Northeast Regimental Histories
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
History of the United States and Canada are covered in America: History and Life
New York Times, June 1980 - present
Search or browse full text issues.
Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County, 1819-1870
Includes Delaware County American, Media (1851-1871); Delaware County Democrat, Chester (two issues); Delaware County Republican, Darby & Chester (1833-1870); The Post Boy, Chester (few issues); The Upland Union, Chester (1825-1835; 1850-1852)
While the quick search box is great for basic search, this search interface allows you to do a lot more, such as limiting your results to books or reordering your results to look at the most recent materials.
This online reference guide on Civil War Materials was compiled and developed by our MLIS intern, Alexandria Chisholm.