PILOT library catalog
E-Books
- AutoCAD 2012 and AutoCAD LT 2012
(ebrary e-book) - Foundations of XML processing
(ebrary e-book) - Constitution 3.0: Freedom and technological change
(ebrary e-book) - How to Do Systems Analysis
(ebrary e-book) - Safari Books Online
Read technical books online through the library's e-book account. Titles change as new publications become available. Check back often! - Nine algorithms that changed the future: the ingenious ideas that drive today's computers
(ebrary e-book) - Sofware modling and design UML, use cases, patterns, & software architectures
(ebrary e-book)
--- and more e-reference
Quick-Search in more encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies...
![]()
Comments
Welcome
Welcome to the WCU Library Services guide to research resources in Computer Science - from WCU Library and beyond.
This page includes
- PILOT library catalog
- E-books
- Databases listed by name
Once you know which database is best for your research topic, direct searches allow you to take advantage of the database's unique characteristics. Some databases are very specific to computer science (e.g. IEEE Computer Society Digital Library) while others, such as Academic Search Complete include articles from all disciplines. - Streaming Video
- New Books (& videos) list - new titles owned by WCU Libraries, including print and online format.
- User feedback box - let me know what you think. Do you have suggestions for additional content/links?
See the tab above for > Journals & Websites related to Computer Science.
Please contact me (info at right -->) if you have suggestions for other additions to this guide. As a resource for a community of learners, this guide will benefit from the combined expertise of all!
Databases
- Academic Search CompleteA large multi-disciplinary database from EBSCO which includes many full-text articles. Among the math journals indexed are College Mathematics Journal, International Journal of Mathematics, Discrete Mathematics & Applications, MT: Mathematics Teaching.
- ACM Digital LibrarySearch and find full-text articles published by the Association for Computing Machinery in conference proceedings, newsletters and journals. Includes access to Computing Reviews.
- ACM Guide to Computing LiteratureThis database can be searched separately at the ACM Digital Library portal.
- Computers and Applied Sciences CompleteAn EBSCO database with indexes and abstracts for articles in more than 1,800 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources. Full text is available for selected years of more than 730 periodicals, such as Journal of Network and Systems Management, International Journal of Information Security, Software & Systems Modeling. If full text is not available in the database, click on "Check Availability."
- IEEE Computer Society Digital Library (CSDL)Full text for 27 society magazines as well as transactions and more than 3,300 conference publications.
- IEEE CSDL Topics
Browse by topic!
New Books at FHG Library
Below are a few titles now at the FHG Library.
Check back often for updates!
Building applications in the cloud - Christopher M. Moyer
Call Number: 005.1 M938 (2nd floor)
ISBN: 9780321720207
Publication Date: 2011
Nine algorithms that changed the future: the ingenious ideas that drive today's computers - John MacCormick
Call Number: 006.3 M131 (2nd floor)
ISBN: 9780691147147
Publication Date: 2012
Compiler design: virtual machines - Reinhard Wilhelm & Helmut Seidl
Call Number: 005.453 W678 (2nd floor)
ISBN: 9783642149085
Publication Date: 2010
Social media survival guide - Deltina Hay
Call Number: 006.754 H412 2011 (2nd floor)
ISBN: 9781884995705
Publication Date: 2011
Software modeling and design: UML, use cases, patterns, and software architectures - Hassan Gomaa
Call Number: 003.3 G631 (2nd floor)
ISBN: 9780521764148
Publication Date: 2011
Turing's Cathedral - George Dyson
Call Number: 004.09 D998 (2nd floor)
ISBN: 0375422773
Publication Date: 2012
Essentials of computer organization and architecture - Linda Null & Julia Lobur
Call Number: 004.22 N969 2012 (2nd floor)
ISBN: 1449600069
Publication Date: 2012
Mobile communication: Bringing us together and tearing us apart - Rich Ling & Scott W. Campbell (Eds.)
Call Number: 303.4833 M687 (4th floor)
ISBN: 1412818613
Publication Date: 2011
Databases illuminated - Catherine M. Ricardo
Call Number: 005.74 R488 2012 (2nd floor)
ISBN: 1449606008
Publication Date: 2012
Code/Space: Software and everyday life - Rob Kitchin & Martin Dodge
Call Number: 303.4834 K62 (4th floor)
ISBN: 9780262042482
Publication Date: 2011
Python programming fundamentals - Kent D. Lee
Call Number: 005.133 L478 (2nd floor)
ISBN: 9781849965361
Publication Date: 2011
Elements of user experience: user-centered design for the Web and beyond - Jesse James Garrett
Call Number: 005.72 G239 2011 (2nd floor)
ISBN: 9780321683687
Publication Date: 2011
Introduction to the theory of programming languages - Gilles Dowek & Jean-Jacques Lévy
Call Number: 005.13 D746 (2nd floor)
ISBN: 9780857290755
Publication Date: 2011
Streaming Videos for Online Learning
Did you know that WCU Libraries has a subscription to a large and growing collection of online videos, including many in Computer Science? The collection is called "Films on Demand" and is listed under "Databases" on the Libraries' website. Below is an example of one video and how it can be embedded in a webpage (or other online system, such as D2L).
Comments (0)
Electronic Resources Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Department Liaison
ACM-W News Blog
From ACM's Committee on Women in Computing


Loading...
Loading...
