This is the "Home" page of the "Index to Art Songs and Arias in Anthologies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Index to Art Songs and Arias in Anthologies  

Lists by title, composer, and author of all songs contained in selected volumes in the Presser Music Library
Last Updated: Sep 20, 2013 URL: http://subjectguides.wcupa.edu/content.php?pid=20836 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

The Index

This file constitutes an index to the contents of a subset of the Presser Music Library's holdings of song anthologies.  Volumes indexed each contain works of more than one composer.  Most of these volumes are classed in 784.33.

Although both the database and the programs that convert it to an HTML page are preliminary, I hope that the information presented will nevertheless be useful.  Your comments would be welcome to guide further development.  This index can grow substantially in the future with the inclusion of more volumes.  Eventually, I would like also to develop or adopt a program that retrieves data from a database according to an online Web search.  Meanwhile, the size of this entire HTML file is still under two megabytes, so it is not yet hopelessly unwieldy.

The file below has five sections:

1. List of books indexed, with their representative three-character codes and call numbers;

2. Composer-title index.  Each entry for a song ends with one or more links to a book and page number in which you can find it. Click on a link to move to the corresponding description of the book (at the top of the screen).  If the song is known to be part of a larger work or to have an opus or thematic catalog number, an additional entry appears with this information in brackets.  For each composer, all such 'work-first' entries are arranged first, before the composer's simple title entries.  The database contains this information when an anthology provides it; no comprehensive effort has yet been made to consult reference sources to identify all cases.  Initial articles are suppressed in the composer-title section.  However, if a work is known by alternate titles (usually due to multiple languages) an entry is made for each.

3. Author or translator index, sub-arranged by title or first line of text.  An asterisk after a text indicates that the entry is for a translator rather than an author. As with opus numbers, this information is merely transcribed from the anthologies and is thus not complete.

4. Title and first-line index.  It is usual in indexes of sung texts NOT to suppress initial articles, because they cannot be suppressed in performance.  If the first word of a song is "The", then it will be alphabetized under "The".  The database underlying this index makes some distinction, however, between titles and first lines.  A song or aria with no distinct title is known only by its incipit, or first words of the lyrics.  In such cases, an additional index entry is made under the first word after an initial article.  As with the composer-title index, each entry concludes with a list of books and pages containing the song.

5. Data.  This is a dump of the underlying database with most data intact except for subfield delimiters and codes.  Numbers in parentheses in the above sections are links to the numbered records in this section.  In most cases, you will have no need to peruse this section.  However, it sometimes contains additional information about a song or its appearance in an anthology.   It may also resolve (or sometimes reveal) puzzling situations that you encounter in this preliminary version of the index.  Future versions of this index may make use of further fields in the data.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tim Sestrick
Contact Info
Presser Music Library
Room 121 C
610-436-2379
Send Email
 

West Chester University | Library Services | 25 West Rosedale Avenue | West Chester, Pennsylvania 19383 | 610-430-4400

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip