E-Reference Books
Selected titles only! Check out PILOT, the library's online catalog to search for more print and electronic books.
World History in Film
The library subscribes to databases with documentary and primary source film. Check out these databases to stream these films online for free.
- Films on DemandDigital educational videos in a wide variety of subject areas. Browse by subject or search by keywords. Choose the "history" subject for films on historical topics. Create a personal account to save to Playlists or Favorites.
- World History in VideoAs of April 2011, 312 videos from BBC, PBS and other sources, documenting global history from earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The collection grows continually and will eventually contain over 1750 streaming video documentaries.
World/Regional History Databases
Check out these databases containing information related to American History. Also, don't forget to check out the general history and newspaper databases on the "Home" page.
- eHRAF ArchaeologyCross-cultural full text database for the study of archaeological traditions. Consists of almost 60,000 pages, subject-indexed to the paragraph level.
- eHRAF World CulturesCross-cultural full text database for the study of cultures and ethnic groups. Consists of over 350,000 pages, subject-indexed to the paragraph level.
- Historical AbstractsHistorical Abstracts is a database of bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
World/Regional History Websites
- Silk Road Seattle

- Chinese Posters

- Ling long Women's Magazine

- Nanjing Massacre Translation

- Metadata Database of Japanese Old Photographs of the Bakumatsu-Meiji Periods

- Korean History Project

- Digital South Asian Library

- African History from About.com

- Internet African History Sourcebook

- Internet Indian History Sourcebook

- African Voices

- Latin American Pamphlets

- Latin American Network Information Center

- Make the Dirt Fly!

- Cuban Heritage Digital Collection

- Brazilian Government Document Digitization Project

- A Nation Emerges: 65 Years of Photography in Mexico

- LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center
Rated an "Essential" resources for Latin American studies by Choice. - The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Rated "Essential" by Choice. - Joseph Berry Keenan Digital Collection

- SEAAdoc: Documenting the Southeast Asian Experience

- Expeditions & Discoveries: Sponsored Exploration and Scientific Discovery in the Modern Age







Loading content... please wait
