Welcome
Welcome to the WCU Library Services guide to research resources in Computer Science - from WCU Library and beyond. This page of the Guide includes:
- new* Library OneSearch - try it! Send Feedback & let us know what you think.
- PILOT library catalog search box
- E-books - new titles at WCU Libraries.
- Research Databases
Using a database focused on computer science content allows you to take advantage of the database's unique characteristics. Two of the databases specifically search their publications (ACM & IEEE), while the Computers and Applied Sciences database (from EBSCO) will return articles from a broader range of publishers. - Streaming Video - an example of the streaming videos available from WCU Libraries' subscription to the Films on Demand database.
- New Books list - new print titles at WCU Libraries.
- User feedback box - let me know what you think. Do you have suggestions for additional content/links? Suggestion for a book purchase?
See the tab above for > Journals & Websites related to Computer Science.
Please contact me (info at right -->) if you have suggestions for other additions to this guide. As a resource for a community of learners, this guide will benefit from the combined expertise of all!
E-Books
- Digital universe: the global telecommunication revolution(ebrary e-book)
- Social network data analytics(ebrary e-book)
- Information security: principles and practice (2011)(ebrary e-book)
- Recommender systems: an introduction(ebrary e-book)
- Visualize this: the FlowingData guide to design, visualization and statistics(ebrary e-book)
- Handbook of financial cryptography and security (CRC)(ebrary e-book)
- Safari Books OnlineRead technical books online through the library's e-book account. Titles change as new publications become available. Check back often!
--- and more e-reference
Quick-Search in more encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies...
![]()
Streaming Videos for Online Learning
Did you know that WCU Libraries has a subscription to a large and growing collection of online videos, including many in Computer Science? The collection is called "Films on Demand" and is listed under "Databases" on the Libraries' website. This video, The Code Breakers: Understanding Free and Open-Source Software, is one example.
Try the New Library OneSearch !
PILOT library catalog
Research Databases for Computer Science
- ACM Digital Library Search or browse for full-text articles published by the Association for Computing Machinery in journals, magazines, conference proceedings and newsletters. Includes titles such as ACM Computing Surveys, Computers in Entertainment, ELearn, Journal of Data & Information Quality, Journal of Experimental Algorithms, and many more.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete Search for articles in more than 1,800 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources. Full text is available for selected years of more than 730 periodicals, such as Journal of Network and Systems Management, International Journal of Information Security, Software & Systems Modeling.
Note: If full text is not available in the database, click on "Check Availability" to locate other sources for full text. - IEEE Computer Society Digital Library Search full text in 27 IEEE society magazines and transactions, and from more than 4100 selected conference proceedings. If desired, limit to specific publications by selecting or de-selecting on the opening (Advanced) Search page.
New Books at FHG Library
Below are a few titles now at the FHG Library.
Check back often for updates!
Electronic Resources Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Department Liaison
Comments
ACM TechNews
Loading...
ACM-W News Blog
From ACM's Committee on Women in Computing
Loading...

Loading...
