Skip to main content

Dance: Home

A Research Guide for Dance from West Chester University Libraries

Dance journals

Some of the dance-related journals available through the library are listed below. Use these links to browse journals electronically, or to find out what issues the library provides access to, either in print or online.

If you are searching for a particular topic, use the databases to the right.

From off campus, on the authentication screen, select West Chester from the Institution drop-down menu and log in with your campus username and password.

Music databases

The streaming audio databases below bring you music of the ballet, some musicals, and a wide variety of genres other than classical. Music from many cultures is also included.

Databases

Use the following databases to find information about dance and teaching dance, choreography, productions, etc. These databases index journals, newspapers, and other material. Using these databases, you may be able to find the full text of articles online, find out if the library owns a particular journal, or request an article through interlibrary loan.

From off campus, on the authentication screen, select West Chester from the Institution drop-down menu and log in with your campus username and password.

See the Theatre subject guide for databases that might also be of interest to dancers. You could also look at the Databases list by subject or by alphabetical order by database title to find other relevant databases.

Or try OneSearch (see search box to the right of the database list), which searches across most of our databases as well as digital content and the library catalog.

In addition to the individually-listed video databases, others may be of interest depending on your topic, as they all contain dance-related material. See Counseling and Therapy in Video, Education in Video, Kanopy Streaming Video, and Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video.

Contact information

For assistance, please contact me: Pat Newland, pnewland@wcupa.edu, 610-436-2256, FHG Library room 233.

Department liaison

Professor Gretchen Studlien-Webb

Internships, apprenticeships

OneSearch


West Chester University   ---    WCU Libraries  25 West Rosedale Avenue, West Chester, PA 19383  610-430-4400