Banner Image

Faculty Resources: Welcome

This guide provides information about using library resources to support teaching and learning.

Welcome

WCU Library Services provides many types of resources and services to support student learning.  This guide is intended to support faculty awareness and familiarity with the increased diversity of resources available from a 21st century academic library.  Services range from loaning of video cameras or DVDs for you or your students and placing course materials on electronic or print reserves to ordering new materials and arranging for a library instruction class.  The increased percentage of library research resources available online can be challenging to remain aware of and to incorporate into both traditional and online classrooms.  This guide includes ideas and step-by-step instructions for locating and linking to these learning support materials.

If you haven't already visited the rest of the Library Services website, please click on the top left "Library Services Home."  There you will find information about all the libraries' Collections, including Government Documents, Special Collections, Presser Music Library, and the IMC (more, bottom left).  The PILOT Library Catalog and the Databases will lead you to book, journal, and online resources.

You can also view our videos on navigating library resources, such as Finding an article from the citaton and Off-campus access to library databases.

Contact your subject librarian or the library reference desk via the email or phone below if you have questions about any of these processes, or would like us to add additional information to this gnuide.   We're always glad to support the use of library resources and services for teaching and learning.

Reference Desk
phone: 610.436.2453
email: refdesk@wcupa.edu

Technology Students Can Use from the Library IMC

The Instructional Media Center (IMC) on the 1st floor of the FHG Library has materials you and your students can use:

  • materials for K-12 teaching
  • DVDs of interest in all academic disciplines
  • Ellison die cuts
  • equipment, including cameras, tripods, and projectors.


Need to print a poster for a conference (or want your students to print one for class)? The IMC can help with that. They also offer binding and printing services.

New Faculty

Are you new to West Chester University and want a personal introduction to our libraries? 

Our librarians are always happy to meet with classroom faculty and show off our many resources, with an emphasis on your discipline!  Just contact your subject librarian and arrange a meeting.

FAQs

Q:  Whom do I contact about arranging library instruction for my class?
   A:  See the list of Subject Coordinator Librarians.

Q:  How do I arrange to put materials on Electronic or Print Reserves?
   A:  See the Reserves tab

Q:  How can I request a purchase of a book, video, etc.?
   A:  Contact your  Departmental Library Liaison or your Subject Librarian (see above) or use our online form.

State Library Databases for Your Research

West Chester University Library participates in the Keystone Library Network (KLN) with The State Library of Pennsylvania.  All state employees, including WCU faculty and staff, have access to the State Library's research databases.  (These databases are not available to students since they are not state employees.)

To access these databases, you need a State Library card.  The online form to request a card is available here.  Use SSHE as the "Agency" name and then West Chester University in the following box.

Once you have your card, use that barcode number and log in from the State Library's page current databases  here, or see the State Library website, http://www.statelibrary.state.pa.us

 

West Chester University   ---    WCU Libraries  25 West Rosedale Avenue, West Chester, PA 19383  610-430-4400