Defense and International RelationsEducationEnvironment and EnergyFamily, Home, and CommunityHistory, Arts, and CultureHealth and NutritionScience and TechnologyTaxesTravel, Transportation, and RecreationVoting and Elections
State ResourcesCounty and Municipal Government Information
This is the "Home" page of the "Government Documents Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Documents Resources   Tags: government documents, income_tax, taxes  

A guide for government documents from West Chester University Libraries
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2014 URL: http://subjectguides.wcupa.edu/governmentdocuments Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Depository Access Policy

The general public is welcome to use depository materials free of charge. 

All of the material in Government Documents circulates, except for Government Documents Reference material and the items in our Maps collection.

West Chester University adheres to the Federal Depository Library policies set in Title 44 U.S.C. §§ 1901 -1916 (2010).

 

About the Government Documents and Maps Department

Location: 2nd (Main) floor, FHG Library
Phone:
(610) 436-2869

Staff: Awilda Reyes, Government Documents and Maps Librarian
Regina Braidotti, Government Documents and Maps Technican

Hours: M-F, 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM; Summer hours are 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Help is also available at the Reference Desk from 8:30 AM -10:00 PM during the semester.

Circulation:
Most government documents may be checked out at the Circulation Desk

 

What are Government Documents?

West Chester University is a Selective Federal Depository for documents from the United States Government Printing Office (GPO) and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.  The library receives 25% of the material produced by the GPO; this material is selected on the basis that it supports the University's curriculum and the needs of the West Chester community.

The GPO is the largest publisher in the world, and the documents it produces register the activities of the agencies, offices, bureaus, and departments of the federal government. These documents include such things as Congressional hearings, reports, and all of the other texts created and used by Congress; US Census reports; national crime data; publications produced by government bodies such as NASA, the Environmental Protection Agency, the Center for Disease Control, etc.; and all other kinds of documents released by all of the Federal agencies. 

West Chester University also receives documents from Pennsylvania state government agencies, including books, pamphlets, periodicals, electronic resources, and much more.

Access to Government Documents Resources

  • PILOT Library Catalog
    Starting in 1996 all new U.S. government documents were added to PILOT, the WCU online catalog. Only a small number of U.S. government documents published before 1996 are listed in the catalog. Starting in 1992 all Pennsylvania documents are listed in the catalog.
  • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) [1976-present]
    The online index to all publications of the U.S. Government Printing Office. The Monthly Catalog print indexes prior to 1976 are available in the Government Documents Reference Area.
  • MetaLib from GPO
    A federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
  • FDsys
    GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official Federal Government publications including the Code of Federal Regulations, Compilation of Presidential Documents, Congressional Publications, United States Code and many more collections.
  • Congressional Publications (ProQuest)
    An online database of Congressional publications, Legislative histories, bills, and regulations, Congressional Committee publications, and regulations and other information about Congress and Washington. It has supplanted the Congressional Information Service (CIS).
  • Hathi Trust Digital Library
    Provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
  • USA.gov
    Official portal of the United States government.
  • Govistics
    Govistics is a project of the Center for Government Research, a nonprofit driving improvement in governments, nonprofits and business through analysis of mission-critical data and objective strategic counsel. Includes statistics on what the government spends on issues involving crime, demographics, employment, retirement system, revenue, and more.

Technician

Profile Image
Regina Braidotti
Contact Info
F.H. Green Library, Room 249
610.436.2869
Send Email

Librarian

Profile Image
Awilda Reyes
 

Have a Suggestion?

Let us know what we can improve by commenting on our Facebook page or by tweeting to us!

facebook

West Chester University | Library Services | 25 West Rosedale Avenue | West Chester, Pennsylvania 19383 | 610-430-4400

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip