This is the "Home" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History  Tags: history american_history european_history world_history  

A Research Guide for History from West Chester University Library.
Last update: Feb 16th, 2010 URL: http://subjectguides.wcupa.edu/history  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the History Subject Guide, brought to you by the friendly librarians at FHG Library!  Please explore and enjoy, and send along any comments or suggestions.  And check back often for updates and changes.

 

Featured Title

 Learn all about the people who believed they could transform lead into gold!

  • The Chemical Choir: A History of Alchemy - P.G. Maxwell-Stuart
    Call Number: 540.112 M465
 

Credo Search - History

 

General History Databases

These databases contain useful information for most historical topics and time periods.

Newspaper Databases

  • ProQuest Newspapers  
    Includes the Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers  
    Contains the New York Times from 1851 and the Wall Street Journal from 1889
  • Accessible Archives Newspapers  
    Searches the Civil War, African American Newspapers: the 19th Century, the PA Gazette, the PA Geneological Catalog, and the PA Newspaper Record collections
  • America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922  
    Full text newspapers representing all 50 U.S. States.
  • Lexis-Nexis (Academic)  
    Includes major and regional newspapers, news networks, National Public Radio, Associated Press and news wires, news transcripts, and more.
  • Newspaper Source  
    Provides select full text coverage for newspapers and other sources. Includes USA Today, Christian Science Monitor, The Times (London), regional papers, transcripts from Face the Nation, CBS Evening News, 60 Minutes, O'Reilly Factor, Hannity & Colmes, NPR
  • The Philadelphia Inquirer  
    Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. From 1981-present.
  • Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985  
    Complete digital edition of The Times (London), Includes all articles as well as advertisements and illustrations/photos.
  • Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980  
    Full-text for more than 300 United States newspapers in Spanish or English.
  • African American Newspapers, 1827-1998  
    Full-text for selected dates ranges of over 60 United States African-American newspapers.
 

West Chester University Special Collections & Archives

You can check out elements of local history and WCU's history by visiting the Special Collections & Archives page. 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageJamie (Peretich) Kohler
Contact Info:
FHG Library, Room 618
Phone: x3456
Send Email

History Dept.

Click here for more information, including Faculty information, program information, and class descriptions for both undergraduate and graduate programs at West Chester University.

 

Rate This Page

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
    Extremely
useful
 

History Podcast

Enjoy podcast feeds from the History Channel!


Loading Podcast Content...
 

West Chester University | Library Services | 25 West Rosedale Avenue | West Chester, Pennsylvania 19383 | 610-430-4400

Description

  Loading content... please wait