Skip to main content

Library Instruction: Library Instruction

Library Instruction

WCU librarians can offer discipline and topic-specific introductions to library research to your classes. Although librarians provide instruction for many writing and speaking (WRT and SPK) courses, we encourage faculty from all disciplines to bring their classes for more specialized or advanced instruction in library resources and services.  To schedule a class, or, if you have questions about library instruction, please contact your Subject Coordinator Librarian (see list to the right) or Rachel McMullin, Information Literacy Librarian (rmcmullin@wcupa.edu).

Library instruction is usually provided in (but not limited to) the library classroom in Room 309. This room is equipped with 30 networked computers, a projector, and printer.  We also have a second classroom, Room 409.  This room is equipped with a computer and smart board, but does not have a printer or computers for students.  If you also plan a research day with your class, we strongly recommend that you schedule the classroom in Room 309 for use with your students. We encourage you to ask a librarian to participate in research days.

Library Classrooms Room 309 and 409:  Use Policy and Reservation Procedure                     

The following guidelines have been established for the use of Library classrooms 309 and 409:

1.       The intended use of rooms 309 and 409 is for library instruction, research sessions, and library events. 

2.       Faculty should contact the librarian for their department to schedule library instruction sessions and follow-up research sessions.  

3.       Faculty are strongly encouraged to have a librarian present at follow-up research sessions.  Reservations can only be made one week in advance for session without a librarian present during the first eight weeks of the semester, due to high demand for instruction.

4.       Room reservations for purposes other than library instruction or research sessions will be accepted on a case by case basis.  These bookings will not be accepted for the first eight weeks of the semester. Contact the library reference desk at ask@wcupa.libanswers.com or 610.436.2453 to schedule.

5.       Librarian or faculty member reserving the room is responsible for maintain security by not allowing students to be unattended.

6.       No student-sponsored events will be scheduled.

7.       No food or beverages permitted.

8.        In case of any disputed bookings, please contact the Associate University Librarian, Amy Ward, award@wcupa.edu, or the University Librarian, Trish Lenkowski, plenkowski@wcupa.edu, for approval at 610.436.2747.

Library Instruction Calendar

Ready to schedule classes?  You can view the library's instruction calendar  to see if the classroom is free during your desired dates/times.  You will still need to contact your subject coordinator librarian to actually book the classroom and to confirm the librarian's availabilty to teach the classes.

Contact Information

Rachel McMullin

Contact Info:
(610) 738-0510
FH Green Library, Room 209

 

Online help: Course guides and videos

In addition to classroom instruction, we can also put together a course-specific research guide that can lead your students to the best resources for their research topics.  These guides can be embedded into D2L, providing easy access for your students. Check out our Research Guides homepage to see examples of course guides. 

We have also been developing a collection of short videos on information literacy and research topics.  The videos cover a  range of topics from general (e.g. evaluating websites and using wikipedia) to how to navigate specific databases to using WCU Libraries' services (e.g. interlibrary loan).  Please see the Help Videos page for a listing and descriptions of the videos. 

If you want a research guide or videos for one or more courses, see the list of subject coordinator librarians below and contact your librarian.

Subject Coordinator Librarians

Accounting Stephen Marvin smarvin@wcupa.edu  
Art  Rachel McMullin rmcmullin@wcupa.edu
Anthropology & Sociology  Mame Purce mpurce@wcupa.edu
Biology Walt Cressler wcressler@wcupa.edu 
Chemistry      Walt Cressler wcressler@wcupa.edu 
Children’s Literature  Dan Feinberg dfeinberg@wcupa.edu
Communication Sciences & Disorders Walt Cressler wcressler@wcupa.edu 
Communication Studies Clayton Garthwait cgarthwait@wcupa.edu
Computer Science Kerry Walton kwalton2@wcupa.edu  
Counselor Education Dan Feinberg dfeinberg@wcupa.edu
Criminal Justice              Michelle Donlin mdonlin@wcupa.edu 
Diversity                        Mame Purce mpurce@wcupa.edu
Early and Middle Grades Ed. Dan Feinberg dfeinberg@wcupa.edu
Economics and Finance Stephen Marvin smarvin@wcupa.edu   
Educational Services       Mame Purce mpurce@wcupa.edu
English Rachel McMullin rmcmullin@wcupa.edu
Ethnic Studies                  Mame Purce mpurce@wcupa.edu
Geography                       Michelle Donlin mdonlin@wcupa.edu
Geology and Astronomy Walt Cressler wcressler@wcupa.edu
Health Walt Cressler wcressler@wcupa.edu
History Tara Wink twink@wcupa.edu
Honors College                Mame Purce mpurce@wcupa.edu
Kinesiology Walt Cressler wcressler@wcupa.edu
Languages and Cultures Pat Newland pnewland@wcupa.edu
Literacy Dan Feinberg dfeinberg@wcupa.edu
Management Stephen Marvin smarvin@wcupa.edu
Marketing Stephen Marvin smarvin@wcupa.edu 
Mathematics Kerry Walton kwalton2@wcupa.edu
Music Tim Sestrick tsestrick@wcupa.edu 
Nursing Walt Cressler wcressler@wcupa.edu
Nutrition and Dietetics Walt Cressler wcressler@wcupa.edu
Philosophy Rachel McMullin rmcmullin@wcupa.edu
Physics Walt Cressler wcressler@wcupa.edu
Political Science                 Michelle Donlin mdonlin@wcupa.edu 
Prof. and Secondary Education Dan Feinberg dfeinberg@wcupa.edu
Psychology Stephen Marvin smarvin@wcupa.edu 
Public Policy & Admin.      Michelle Donlin mdonlin@wcupa.edu 
Social Work                         Michelle Donlin mdonlin@wcupa.edu
Special Education Danielle Skaggs dskaggs@wcupa.edu
Sports Medicine Walt Cressler wcressler@wcupa.edu
Theatre and Dance Pat Newland pnewland@wcupa.edu
Women’s Studies Jean Burton jburton@wcupa.edu
     
West Chester University   ---    WCU Libraries  25 West Rosedale Avenue, West Chester, PA 19383  610-430-4400