New! Library OneSearch
Comments (0)
PILOT library catalog
Online Reference Books
- Encyclopedia of AlgorithmsMing-Yang Kao, editor. Published by Springer, c. 2008. From the foreward: each "encyclopedia entry is an in-depth mini-survey of an algorithmic problem and is written by an expert researcher. The entries for an algorithmic area are compiled by an area editor to survey the representative results in that area and can form the core materials of a course in the area."
Also available in print: FHG Library Ref 518.103 E56 - The Penguin Dictionary of Mathematicsfrom the Credo Reference collection
--- and more e-reference
AMS News Feed
Welcome
Welcome to the WCU Library Services guide to research resources in Mathematics - from WCU Library and beyond. This page of the Guide includes:
- New! - Library OneSearch - try it! Send us Feedback & let us know what you think.
- PILOT library catalog
- Online reference books
- Databases listed by name
Once you know which database is best for your research topic, direct searches allow you to take advantage of the database's unique characteristics. Some databases are very specific to mathematics (e.g. MathSciNet) while others include articles on related and additional topics. - New Books (& videos) list - titles recently received at FHG Library
- User feedback box - let me know what you think! (Yes, I really mean it.)
See the tab above for > Journals & Websites related to Mathematics.
Please contact me (info at right -->) if you have suggestions for other additions to this guide. As a resource for a community of learners, this guide will benefit from the combined expertise of all!
Databases
- Academic Search Complete A large multi-disciplinary database from EBSCO which includes many full-text articles. Among the math journals indexed are College Mathematics Journal, International Journal of Mathematics, Discrete Mathematics & Applications, and MT: Mathematics Teaching.
- Current Index to Statistics Not a full-text database, but a searchable index to publications in statistics, probability & related fields. Return to the Libraries' website & use the Journals or PILOT library catalog search to locate full text for the resource. If the resource is not available via WCU Libraries, the Interlibrary Loan service can usually obtain it for you in a few days.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete An EBSCO database which indexes titles in applied math such as Journal of Algorithms, Numerical Linear Algebra with Applications, Journal of Number Theory. Full text is available for some journals; for others click on "Check Availability" to locate other routes to the full text.
- JSTOR Search the entire JSTOR database or limit By Discipline=Mathematics (currently includes 72 titles, including American Mathematical Monthly, College Mathematics Journal, Mathematics in School, Mathematics Teacher, Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School, Teaching Children Mathematics.) or Statistics (50 titles). You can also browse journal issues. All articles are available back to volume 1 for most journals, some with a 5-year backfile delay, but others through the current issue.
- MathSciNet The American Mathematical Society's database. Search for reviews, abstracts and bibliographic data in the literature of mathematical sciences. Full-text links are enabled for some articles (just click on the pdf); if not, return to the Library's homepage and search in > Journals, or the > PILOT Library catalog.
Math Videos Online
- Math Video TutorialsOver 400 openly-available math tutorial videos under the subjects of Arithmetic, Algebra, Trigonometry, Business Calculus, and Calculus. From James Sousa.
- Films On DemandOnline videos available from a WCU Libraries subscription to this extensive and growing Films Media Group collection. Scroll down to find the MATHEMATICS category of 100 titles such as "Linear Functions: An Introduction," "Math Can Take You Places" with bilingual lesson plans, and "Inferential Statistics." See video embedded in box below.
Online Video from Films on Demand
This is an example of a Films on Demand video - and how one could be embedded in D2L. This is a 36-minute video, Building Mathematical Competencies in Early Childhood.
New Titles, Spring 2013
These titles will also be saved & listed in an upcoming list of titles to be posted at right.
Math goes to the movies
Call Number: 791.4366 P778 (6th floor)
ISBN: 9781421404844
Publication Date: 2012
Also available as an ebrary e-book.
Mathletics
Call Number: 796.0151 W783 (6th floor)
ISBN: 9780691154589
Publication Date: 2012
Also available as an EBSCO e-book.
Theory of Hardy's Z-function
Call Number: 512.7 I95 (6th floor)
ISBN: 9781107028838
Publication Date: 2012
Also available as an ebrary e-book.
Approximation by algebraic numbers
Call Number: 512.74 B931a (6th floor)
ISBN: 0521823293
Publication Date: 2004
Distribution modulo one and Diophantine approximation
Call Number: 512.74 B931d (6th floor)
ISBN: 9780521111690
Publication Date: 2012
Also available as an ebrary e-book.
Mathematics and sports
Call Number: 796.02 M426 (5th floor)
ISBN: 9780883853498
Publication Date: 2010
Also available as an EBSCO e-book.
Simple Lie algebras over fields of positive characteristic: III. Completion of the classification
Call Number: 512.482 S895 (6th floor)
ISBN: 9783110262988
Publication Date: 2012
Math goes to the movies
Call Number: E-book: click on title to read it online!
ISBN: 9781421404844
Publication Date: 2012
(ebrary e-book)
Mathematics in popular culture
Call Number: 700.46 M426 (5th floor)
ISBN: 9780786449781
Publication Date: 2012
Also available as an ebrary e-book.
Subject Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
Loading...
