Books at the Career Center
The Career Development Center maintains a library of resource books within the center (225 Lawrence). The career library provides practical and easy-to-use career exploration and job search materials, as well as a wide array of free magazines and literature. A direct link to our Career Library Resources is www.wcupa.edu/_services/STU.CAR/library/
Meet our newest books in the Career Resource Library
Just arrived! -
A new DVD - "RIASEC at Work" - 30 minutes long. Stop in to view!
Visit our office for a free Job Search Handbook - the latest edition of Job Choices

Stop in for a FREE copy of the 2011-2012 Graduate School Guide Just arrived!
New Books at FHG & Presser Libraries
updated 9.1.2011
Welcome!
Welcome to the CAREERS Subject Guide page! This is a collaboration between the Francis Harvey Green Library (FHG) and the Twardowski Career Development Center (TCDC) and we hope you find it useful. You will find that the FHG has many online directories and subscriptions for more in depth research tasks and the TCDC website has mow "how to" articles and links related to writing a resume, preparing for interviews, job search sites and more.

See our calendar for special career events and opportunities!
Have you "Liked" us on Facebook? Search for WCUCareerCenter
Online Resource Links
Films on Demand: Careers & Job Search
Online videos about career exploration, career choices, and job success skills! See an example of an embedded video from Films on Demand in the box at the bottom of this column. Access these films from off-campus using your WCU username & password. (if you have problems, call or email the Library during regular hours: 610.436.3453 or refdesk@wcupa.edu)
Listed below are some of the popular links for career information grouped by different categories.
OCCUPATION/CAREER RESEARCH
Occupational Outlook Handbook (includes salary information)
Occupational Outlook Handbook en Español
SALARY INFORMATION
NACE Salary Calculator Center - The National Association of Colleges and Employers offers the most accurate compensation data available.
EXPERIENTIAL EDUCATION (Internships, Service Learning, Volunteer Opportunities)
WCU Career Development Center Internship website
WCU Academic Internship Programs
WCU Office of Service Learning and Volunteer Programs
CAREER EXPLORATION - Featured career areas!
Urban Planning Careers - Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning
Botany Careers - Botanical Society of America
Magazine Careers - Association of Magazine Media
Careers in Medical Illustration - Association of Medical Illustrators
Environmental Health Careers - Association of Environmental Health Academic Programs
Careers in Dietetics - Video from the American Dietetic Association
Advertising Careers - from the Advertising Educational Foundation
Music Careers Glossary - National Association for Music Education
What links do you suggest?
Do you have a favorite job search site? Have you found a resource that is particularly helpful? If so, let us know! We can link it to our webpage or to this resource.
- Top Questions to Ask an Employer in an Interview by AllieCareer Services advisors at Rasmussen College have teamed up to identify the best questions to ask during an interview—all questions that will position yourself for interviewing success.
- Online Master Degree by SarahA member of our seminar found this link - scholarships and what you can do with a degree.
Researching Employers
The F.H. Green Library has many resources for researching employers and fields of employment.
For books & videos search the PILOT Library Catalog, using subject or keywords.
Try subject words such as
- occupations
- vocational guidance.
Useful library databases for researching company information are:
- Datamonitor Company Profiles in the Business Source Premier database (select > Company Profiles from the top blue bar at the search page)
- Hoover's Company and Industry Reports from Lexis/Nexis
The Job Interview - from Films on Demand
Visit or Contact Us

Twardowski Career Development Center
225 Lawrence Center
Phone: 610.436.2501
email: cdc@wcupa.edu
web:http://www.wcupa.edu/cdc
Meet Our Staff!
Left to right : Phil Tripp, Becky Ross, Preeti Singh, Krista Carstens, Evelyn Doran. All staff members may be reached by calling 610-436-2501.
=======================
FHG Library
25 West Rosedale Ave
Phone: 610.436.2453
email: refdesk@wcupa.edu
Partner sites
The following websites are ones we link on our website for major activities,
CollegeCentral Network- for action to implement your plan
FOCUS - For Self Assessment - a good place to begin
Goinglobal.com - for International Exploration
JobWeb.com - a supplement to the Job Choices handbook available in the TCDC








Submit



Loading...
